Review and Swatches: Urban Decay Naked Palette

image

Hello everyone! Welcome back to my blog! I hope you all had a fantastic weekend:) As you have obviously noticed from the title and the picture above, I will be doing a review alone with swatches of the origional Naked Palette by Urban Decay. This is the only palette that I own by them, as I always thought $52 dollars for eye shadow was a bit much, and I still do think it’s a lot. However–I think that this is worth it as an investment.

You get 12 shadows along with a brush (which I do use, but not exclusively) for the price of $52 dollars US. I tried to think of buying this palette as an investment. If you take the brush out: lets say $12 dollars to be a cheaper Sigma brush, the shadows themselves are down to $40 and that’s now cheaper than my Lorac Pro Palette that I am obsessed with.  Technically you are getting two brush heads, so if you wanted to you could knock down the theoretical price even more;) Not to say that I think you should all go drop the money on this immediately (it is still a lot of money), but if you think about what you are getting for the cost, it is  definitely worth the investment in my opinion.

Here is what you will get with this palette: 1 deal ended brush, 12 shadows (all swatched below), and a decent sized mirror. Mine looks a bit goofy because I’ve left the plastic protection film over it..I know a bit compulsive, but it keeps it looking nice.

image

These 3 shadows I honestly use all the time. Virgin is an absolutely beautiful highlight and I love it on my inner corner. Sin I use all over my lid when I’m doing a really simple light and bright eye look. Naked I use almost every single time I use this palette as a base/blending color for my look. These three colors are absolutely beautiful.

image

The next 3 colors in this palette are Sidecar, Buck, and Half Baked. Sidecar I use in combination with Sin a lot, but honestly it’s not what makes me love this palette as much as I do–it’s a pretty color but nothing I’d get overly excited about. Buck is a great general brown color to have in your collection. It blends beautifully and really helps to create those smooth edges that make your makeup look its best. It also looks great blended out over Naked. Half Baked is just absolutely gorgeous! It’s such a perfect gold color. I used this today all over my lid blended out a bit with Smog and loooved it. Can’t get enough of it.

image

Up next: Smog, Darkhorse, and Toasted. As I mentioned before I used Smog today (as I do many days) and I just can’t get over how much I love this color. It can go over so many shades and just adds a little something extra to most eye looks. Darkhorse is a beautiful color, but I wish it wasn’t quite as shimmery. I use it only on my lash lines. Then we have Toasted. This is another one of my favorites. It’s one of those colors you can put on alone and it does enough to make your eyes look beautiful, but in combination with other colors it is even better. It is for sure one of the reasons you should get this palette:)

image

Finally we have the darkest colors in the palette. I honestly haven’t reached for the black or deep blue/grey color at all. I have a black that I enjoy using, and for what I use blacks for I don’t like a lot of shimmer in them. For New Years though it would be great:) Gunmetal is a very pretty color, don’t get me wrong, but I don’t see it as a color that a lot of women would use as often as the other colors. It’s much more of a color you would want to use if you’re going for a great smokey eye, or something you’d want for night. Hustle however is my exception to my feelings for these dark colors. I use it a lot with Toasted to make the corners a little bit darker and it looks beautiful. I don’t use it all the time, but it is much easier to be used in a day time eye look than the others.

image

 

I hope you all found this helpful! I really honestly love this palette and use it way, way more than I originally thought that I would. If there was a negative about this palette I would say that there can be a lot of fall out with the shimmer in the colors. They are beautiful, but you may want to apply your concealer after you do your eye makeup when using some of the darker colors:)

Let me know if there are any other posts that you all would like to see:)

xo
Mandarie

3 thoughts on “Review and Swatches: Urban Decay Naked Palette

Leave a Reply

