Wedding Tips: Making Your Hair & Makeup Last

I was thinking about what I wanted to post about today and realized it was exactly 3 months ago that I said “I do”, and it inspired me to share some of my tips, tricks, and ideas from my wedding with you all.

Making sure that my hair and makeup would last from day to night was one of the things I was concerned about–especially with my wedding be towards the end of June and it can get quite hot. So I’ve compiled a list of tips and tricks to help our all of you soon-to-be brides.

  • Don’t change your face wash or your skincare routine less then 6 weeks before your wedding. That’s even pushing it with how close it is. The last thing you’ll want is to have breakouts from your skin adjusting to a new product.
  • Dont do a mask the night before unless it’s one you’ve used many times and know how your skin reacts to it.
  • When you get done with your morning face routine don’t apply your moisturizer right away. If you can wait to apply it until about 10-15 minutes before your makeup is applied that will make your makeup apply the best
  • If someone is coming in to do your makeup, be very honest with her/him about what kind of skin you have. Think about how quickly you see oil start to show up normally, does your skin dry out a lot with powder foundations? I have hooded eyelids so I told her sometimes my liner can create another line if it doesn’t dry and set properly. All these little details will make you feel more comfortable and help your mua give you the best application that they can.
  • If you’re are applying your makeup on your own be sure to test out your plan a few times. See how it last throughout the day and take test shots to see how it photographs as well. (I would suggest taking a few pictures anyways even if you’re having it done by a professional.)
  • For my oily/combination girls: find a primer and setting spray that works for you. I knew my skin had always done well with my setting spray and didn’t want to try something new out that day. My mua was amazing about it and she used some of my products because I knew they worked well with my skin. They want you to be happy with your end result–so speak up!
  • If your mua uses a specific powder or a lipstick you don’t have I suggest going out and buying them. You’ll want to have something to do touchups with and getting your own set will make things much easier.
  • Try not to touch your face too often. Kind of an easy one, but a good reminder.
  • For your hair be sure that you use a hairspray with a super strong hold and cover everything. Throw an extra spray into your emergency bag to do touch ups throughout the day and night.
  • Pack some bobby pins as well. If you have a piece of hair that falls out just pop some extra pins in. (Spray them with hair spray and they will get sticky and not slip out of your hair)
  • pick a hairstyle that has worked for you in the past. If you’ve work it up for many formal occasions consider keeping it up. You’ll be used to that style and it will look more like you. On the flip side if you love your hair down with soft waves wear your hair that way. The more comfortable you are with they style the more like ‘you’ you’ll look 🙂

Here are a few pictures from my day:) I always love seeing wedding photos and thought this would be a fun opportunity to share some.

image

image

image

I’m thinking of potentially making this a series of some sorts. Please, pleas comment below if you’d be interested. So far I’m thinking: photography tips, dress fittings, choosing bridesmaids, how I decorated, choosing a venue, etc. What do you want to hear about? Any other topics you might find helpful?
Happy Sunday!

xo
mandarie

6 thoughts on “Wedding Tips: Making Your Hair & Makeup Last

Leave a Reply

