How To: Skip a Shampoo Without Your Hair Feeling Icky

Let’s just be honest here, we all have the days we wake up late and don’t have the time to shower, or the days those extra minutes of sleep are the most important thing in the world. Since this has happened to me…once or twice:) …I’ve come up with a few ways to make my hair last those extra days when I need it to.

A little back story on my hair: I have really think hair with a couple different textures in it. The top at least half is very soft and can be fine, but the underneath portion from the nape of my neck to about my ears. I’m constantly trying to find new things that help keep that coarser hair as soft and healthy as possible. I’ve just recently discovered L’Oreal Total Repair and just did a post on it. You can find that here.

  • Invest in a dry shampoo that works for your hair. I really like the Batiste, Not Your Mother’s brands, and I spray the L’Oreal Elnett hairspray at night.
  • I tend to go back and forth between the dry shampoos I use, but I always use them in combination with the L’Oreal hairspray. I feel like changing up the product helps it work better on my hair.Kind of the same way changing up you conditioner helps your hair too:)
  • While you’re getting ready in the morning spray the dry shampoo into your roots. Also, don’t forget the crown of your head, that’s where I feel I lose a lot of volume on non-shower days. Pull your hair up in a loose bun while the shampoo is setting to have the hairs pulled up and not laying on each other.
  • If you’re completely out of dry shampoo use baby powder or a loose mineral makeup, that will absorb some of the oil too. Add small amounts of baby powder at a time, since it does look quite intense on darker hair.
  • Spray whatever hair spray you choose all around your roots and use it as a way to set your hair at the cleanest it will look (after you’ve let the dry shampoo sit and brushed it out) for the day. This L’Oreal hair spray is amazing because it brushes out and doesn’t leave hair looking crusty or chunky after it dries.
  • Find a style of bun that you like whether that means a ballerina bun and messy bun of anything in between the two that you like. If your hair is just not doing what you need it to put it on the top of your head:)
  • I also spray some of the Elnet hair spray into my hair at night when I notice it starting to look a little chunky or ‘heavy’ looking after the day.

I hope this helps some of you out who have the same problems! What is a dry shampoo you really love? Any tips and tricks you have to share?

I’ve also added the links to all the products I’ve talked about into the post–do you all find that more helpful or do you prefer the pictures?

Thanks all! I’d love the feedback
xo Mandarie

 

2 thoughts on “How To: Skip a Shampoo Without Your Hair Feeling Icky

  1. A picture or two is nice just to break up the text on the page in my opinion 🙂 Great post! My favorite combo is the BlowPro Faux Dry Dry Shampoo and their Textstyle Dry Texture Spray. I swear I’m not sponsored by them, I just love those products.
    If you’re interested I have a review on each on my own blog. (Just an option, not trying to obnoxiously plug my own site)
    http://www.bellarosemu.com

    1. I prefer pictures too, but I wanted to try something a little different:) Thank you for the feedback I honestly really appreciate it! I will have to go check out the BloPro products! I’m always in the mood to find more great stuff😊

Leave a Reply

