August Favorites 2014

image

I cannot believe we are already to the end of August! This summer has just gone my insanely fast! I just wanted to say a quick, but huge, thank you to all of you who have followed this blog and to those of you have left some very sweet comments–it means so much to me that you take the time to read my posts:) Love you all!

But–let’s get on to the good stuff:)

My first favorite of the month is my Beauty Blender. I really just rediscovered it and honestly forgot how easy it makes  applying my foundation and concealer in the mornings. I love it for many reasons, but one of the best things that it does is that it picks up the excess concealer under your eyes–it pretty much makes it impossible for it to look cakey and overdone. They are also just super easy to clean. You can buy the little dish that has cleaner in it, but I just use my Philosophy cleanser and it gets rid of all the built up makeup that it absorbs. Bonus: it is way fast to clean than any other makeup brush that I have:)

I have also been loving my Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles Concealer–well that’s a mouthful! I have always thought it did a good job concealing, but I’ve discovered just in the past couple weeks how amazing it really is! I’m using the shade Light 120 and it adds just that little bit of brightness to my under eyes that I really like. (Also, as bad as this is to admit, while looking extra info up for this post I found that they do also have this concealer in the shade Neutralizer and Brightener…I now have a huge urge to run to Target and pick them both up…their site says using the shade Neutralizer is the best for really dark circles) I always get one of the lightest shades for my under eyes that I didn’t even take the time to look at the full range that was available..whoops! Anyways–I’ve found that applying this concealer after my foundation and giving it a couple minutes to set before I blend it makes a huge difference it how it looks.  I will apply foundation, apply this, and then go to get dressed or brush my teeth then come back to blend. I feel like it allows more of the product to stay on my skin, therefore covering my dark circles even better. It also works great for redness around my nose, or covering minor blemishes. I may just do a full review on this concealer now that I am realizing how much I have to say…comment below if you’d like a full review with Neutralizer and Brightener added.

Another one of my favorites of the month is my Naked Palette. I know, I’m super late on this, but I am honestly loving it. I just picked it up about 2 or 3 weeks ago and I haven’t stopped using it. I’ve found so many combinations that I love and I just can’t get enough. Virgin is one of my absolute favorite brow highlights now. It blends out so well and gets rid of any crease or line that could be created with the other shadows I have used. LOVE. That’s all I have to say about this palette:)

The e.l.f. (eyes lips face…just for an FYI :)) Studio Contouring Blush & Bronzing Powder in St. Lucia is amazing! This is another product that a bought several months ago, but have just recently really started using. Its so great to have this combination–especially for traveling. I went out of town this past weekend and it was so nice to just have a small compact that had both my blush and bronzer in it. This duo is only $3 and has great color payoff. The blush is just beautiful and the bronzer blends out really well. Again another win-win. Great price and a great product.

My final favorite for the month is my Pro Stippling Brush #44 from Sephora. I’ve been using this to go over my makeup one final time before adding my setting powder just to get rid of any potential lines or parts that aren’t blended out perfectly. This brush is meant to be used for applying foundation, but the bristles are just too loose for me. I like thicker brush heads so, for me, this is perfect just so go over everything to blend it all out.

I hope you have all had an amazing August, but I for one cannot wait for September:) September brings my birthday, bonfires, crunchy leaves, and all things cozy! Until next time:)

xo
Mandarie

Leave a Reply

